'Facial recognition in autistic spectrum - its again a verbal communication deficit'

03/26/2017 22:01

'Data suggests brains of autistic spectrum people can recognize faces as well as anyone - but they cannot process the information into a verbal response like typical people can'


...
(quote by the researcher)
"It's not so much the face isn't recognised by the brain but there's a problem in them being able to then use that information to say 'I recognise this person'."


Im not sure I have the same difficulty with this ability - as some do.   But connecting a name to a face - often takes a lot of reinforcement for me.  


Just like I have to hear what someone someone says 2 or 3 times to understand the meaning of what they are saying (in the moment).    Later on (hours or sometimes days), I can often recall exactly what was said (if I felt it was important - but did not understand in the moment), and by then I will have understood.   But in the meantime, the delicate nature of casual conversation often escapes me.  


Being introduced once - its nearly impossible for me to put a face to a name. 


Directions/instructions are particularly difficult when taken verbally.   And even intense language - I can sometimes be baffled by its meaning.  Although usually when things get intense as in an argument, similar to being stimulated by an interesting topic, my brain usually focuses more clearly in the moment.  


Its the normal (more relaxed) state of my brain - that conversation seems to sink, and get trapped in my brain.  I often have no ability to change that.  This is where the rewind button helps.