'If youve met one person on the autistic spectrum, youve met one person on the autistic spectrum.'

03/23/2017 22:38

'If you've met one person on the autistic spectrum, you've met one person on the autistic spectrum.'  

A common quote used by those who understand this spectrum.  It just means that everyone is different - just like the rest of humanity. 

Whether its a high-functioning Aspie who's writing revolutionary computer code like Mark Zuckerberg, an autistic spectrum artist like Michelangelo, or an autistic spectrum person that is frustrated that their senses are all mixed up in their brain and therefore flail their arms - all autistics are different - and their personal characteristics are all different. - just like any other human.  The list on the linked article - does highlight many of the struggles autistic spectrum people have in common.

Recent studies have found that brains of autistic spectrum people are 17 % larger  (with larger heads) and have more neural connections than the typical brain.  Ironically, the increased size is in the area where verbal communication is processed (the biggest difficulty for autistic spectrum people) - the prefrontal cortex.  

This explains why Ive written poetry - about feeling that conversation gets lost in my brain "My brain takes (conversation) like a stream takes a pebble."   I guess there is more area to cover, so the processing is slower in our prefrontal cortexes.   Likely our prefrontal cortex is used for focus and processing of operations not related to verbal communciation and its subtlety.

Other recent research shows that autistic spectrum brains are hyper-active, rather than slow, as previously thought.   But since communication is lacking and we often exhibit less facial expression when communicating - autistic spectrum were seen as "a little slow".   Reality is that we are just slow communicators - with poor social skills - in an ever-faster world.

Those autistic spectrum who appear to have severe difficulties - their sense experience is all cross-wired in their brain.   Their brains are taking in the senses - but the neurons are not firing well enough to process the information - so they can't communicate it to people in any normal kind of way.   (I understand this due to reading books by Dr. Temple Grandin - an designer/engineer - and writer on autistic spectrum functioning and behavior.

The article linked below is a very good general synopsis of the challenges most autistic spectrum people face.  Ill list the positives from another site below.
The things that do not apply  to me from their list: 

1.   Ive not had trouble beginning romantic relationships - Ive just had trouble maintaining them - due to the everyday small talk - that is necessary for financial decisions, my contribution to planning/coordinating activity (often which I did not want to partake due to difficulties listed), and difficulties maintaining employment after my sisters suicide and other traumas related to that (which the autistic spectrum sensitivities contributed to my reaction) and resulted in increased PTSD / avoiding situations that triggered the PTSD.

2.  I can definitely have empathy for people.   I think some of the non-recognition of empathy in autistic spectrum - lies in an inabilty to convey our empathy in a way that most people understand while we are conversating (slow processing of verbal and non-verbal communication cues).  Dr. Grandin highlights this in her book as well.   My empathy can be seen in my poetry - especially in my 20s and early 30s - as I wrote a lot of poetry from other peoples' perspectives then.  I think it is easier for me to empathize when I know the context of someone's pain or struggle. 

Also, if you look at the spectrum of typical thinkers (a term for everyone else not on the autistic spectrum) - I believe you will find a good portion of them lack empathy as well.   There are a lot of social people - whose humor is almost exclusively focused on denigration of others.  Lack of empathy in some cases - or selective empathy in others. 

Because of this - and because its difficult for autistics to convey their empathy to others - Im not really sure lack of empathy - is a great qualifier for all the autism spectrum.  

3.  I love to try new food.  In fact, that was a complaint I had with a couple of women Ive dated -  that they wouldnt try new restaurants - actually my two longest relationships - 5 and 7 years. (Some aspies or other parts of the spectrum are more likely to have this characteristic - rather than those toward the more autistic portion of the spectrum).

4.  Travel.   I love to travel and have travelled both alone and with others all over the United States.   Ive only been out of the country a couple of times.  Due to the sabotage network, Ive been broke for that last 3 years - so its been impossible to travel recently.   I travelled  most recently with my ex-gf Jen Hughes - she did the planning - and actually paid for more than I did - which was not usual for me - but the vehicles I was working on - were all sabotaged in 2014.   I feel she was keeping secret that she knew I was being surveilled - and possibly worse than that.  Not sure. (again I believe this to be more likely toward the Aspie part of the spectrum)

5.  I can communicate, make connections, and joke/tease people I like or love.   Joking around is not something (some aspies and some others on the autistic spectrum) struggle with.  Whether someone will understand an individual brand of humor - is a matter of degree - and taste in humor - just like everyone else.

Its the small talk thats more difficult to learn.  Often, either I drift off subject or I cannot follow the delicate nature of it - especially when more people enter the conversation.  There are times when I can go with the flow of a conversation for more than a couple minutes - but its usually not small talk-oriented.  It has to be thought provoking - or my thoughts will drift (involuntarily) to some other topic quickly.  My family and I dont share the same sense of humor - or interests.

Witty banter or flirtation is the same for me as anyone else who likes that - but I like to have a mix of thought-provoking conversation and banter in a relationship.  I get a lot of blabla haha bs - in the last two years - when Im out socializing - due to the sabotage network following me (whether it was the bar or the library or work).

I learned better social skills in my 20s - in part thanks to alcohol and in part due to practice.  But Ill note that its difficult for someone that has poor social ability - to start out in a new place.   My first year of college was a social disaster because I didnt really know anyone - and was inept at socializing.  I learned through my 20s.

Since my life has been illegally surveilled and sabotaged - the social PTSD effects of that and the damage they have done to my public image through the lies theyve told - limit my opportunity to socialize now.   I can socialize - as long as Im not constantly harassed - like I have been wherever I go for the last couple of years.

However, even if I wasn't under such scrutiny all the time - I do have some difficulty navigating the delicate nature of everyday conversation - especially if Im not familiar with someone.   As more people in a group are talking - the less I can absorb - due to both the distraction of social PTSD (which is a characteristic of autism spectrum Ive learned - noise sensitivity) and the poor ability of my brain to process conversation.

https://blog.udemy.com/do-i-have-autism/
'If you've met one person on the autistic spectrum, you've met one person on the autistic spectrum.'  

A common quote used by those who understand this spectrum.  It just means that everyone is different - just like the rest of humanity. 

Whether its a high-functioning Aspie who's writing revolutionary computer code like Mark Zuckerberg, an autistic spectrum artist like Michelangelo, or an autistic spectrum person that is frustrated that their senses are all mixed up in their brain and therefore flail their arms - all autistics are different - and their personal characteristics are all different. - just like any other human.  The list on the linked article - does highlight many of the struggles autistic spectrum people have in common.

Recent studies have found that brains of autistic spectrum people are 17 % larger  (with larger heads) and have more neural connections than the typical brain.  Ironically, the increased size is in the area where verbal communication is processed (the biggest difficulty for autistic spectrum people) - the prefrontal cortex.  

This explains why Ive written poetry - about feeling that conversation gets lost in my brain "My brain takes (conversation) like a stream takes a pebble."   I guess there is more area to cover, so the processing is slower in our prefrontal cortexes.   Likely our prefrontal cortex is used for focus and processing of operations not related to verbal communciation and its subtlety.

Other recent research shows that autistic spectrum brains are hyper-active, rather than slow, as previously thought.   But since communication is lacking and we often exhibit less facial expression when communicating - autistic spectrum were seen as "a little slow".   Reality is that we are just slow communicators - with poor social skills - in an ever-faster world.

Those autistic spectrum who appear to have severe difficulties - their sense experience is all cross-wired in their brain.   Their brains are taking in the senses - but the neurons are not firing well enough to process the information - so they can't communicate it to people in any normal kind of way.   (I understand this due to reading books by Dr. Temple Grandin - an designer/engineer - and writer on autistic spectrum functioning and behavior.

The article linked below is a very good general synopsis of the challenges most autistic spectrum people face.  Ill list the positives from another site below.

The things that do not apply  to me from their list: 

1.   Ive not had trouble beginning romantic relationships - Ive just had trouble maintaining them - due to the everyday small talk - that is necessary for financial decisions, my contribution to planning/coordinating activity (often which I did not want to partake due to difficulties listed), and difficulties maintaining employment after my sisters suicide and other traumas related to that (which the autistic spectrum sensitivities contributed to my reaction) and resulted in increased PTSD / avoiding situations that triggered the PTSD.

2.  I can definitely have empathy for people.   I think some of the non-recognition of empathy in autistic spectrum - lies in an inabilty to convey our empathy in a way that most people understand while we are conversating (slow processing of verbal and non-verbal communication cues).  Dr. Grandin highlights this in her book as well.   My empathy can be seen in my poetry - especially in my 20s and early 30s - as I wrote a lot of poetry from other peoples' perspectives then.  I think it is easier for me to empathize when I know the context of someone's pain or struggle. 

Also, if you look at the spectrum of typical thinkers (a term for everyone else not on the autistic spectrum) - I believe you will find a good portion of them lack empathy as well.   There are a lot of social people - whose humor is almost exclusively focused on denigration of others.  Lack of empathy in some cases - or selective empathy in others. 

Because of this - and because its difficult for autistics to convey their empathy to others - Im not really sure lack of empathy - is a great qualifier for autism.  

3.  I love to try new food.  In fact, that was a complaint I had with a couple of women Ive dated -  that they wouldnt try new restraurants - actually my two longest relationships - 5 and 7 years. (Some aspies or other parts of the spectrum are more likely to have this trait - rather than those toward the more autistic portion of the spectrum).

4.  Travel.   I love to travel and have travelled both alone and with others all over the United States.   Ive only been out the country a couple of times.  Due to the sabotage network, Ive been broke for that last 3 years - so its been impossible.   I travelled  most recently with my ex-gf Jen Hughes - she did the planning - and actually paid for more than I did - which was not usual for me - but the vehicles I was working on - were all sabotaged in 2014.   I feel she was keeping secret that she knew I was being surveilled - and possibly worse than that.  Not sure. (again I believe this to be more likely toward the Aspie part of the spectrum)

5.  I can communicate, make connections, and joke/tease people I like or love.   Joking around is not something (some aspies and some others on the autistic spectrum) struggle with.  Whether someone will understand individual brand of humor - is a matter of degree - and taste in humor - just like everyone else.

Its the small talk thats more difficult to learn.  Often, I either I drift off subject or I cannot follow the delicate nature of it - especially when more people enter the conversation.  There are times when I can go with the flow of a conversation for more than a couple minutes - but its usually not small talk oriented.  It has to be thought provoking - or my thoughts will drift (involuntarily) to some other topic quickly.  My family and I dont share the same sense of humor - or interests.

Witty banter or flirtation is the same for me as anyone else who likes that - but I like to have a mix of thought-provoking conversation and banter in a relationship.  I get a lot of blabla haha bs - in the last two years - when Im out socializing - due to the sabotage network following me (whether it was the bar or the library).

I learned better social skills in my 20s - in part thanks to alcohol and in part due to practice.  But Ill note that its difficult for someone that has poor social ability - to start out in a new place.   My first year of college was a social disaster because I didnt really know anyone - and was inept at socializing.

Since my life has been illegally surveilled and sabotaged - the social PTSD effects of that - limit my opportunity to socialize now.   I know I can socialize - as long as Im not constantly harassed - like I have been wherever I go for the last couple of years.

However, even if I wasn't under such scrutiny all the time - I do have some difficulty navigating the delicate nature of everyday conversation - especially if Im not familiar with someone.   As more people in a group are talking - the less I can absorb - due to both the distraction of social PTSD (which is a characteristic of autism spectrum Ive learned - noise sensitivity) and the poor ability of my brain to process conversation.


'If you've met one person on the autistic spectrum, you've met one person on the autistic spectrum.'  

A common quote used by those who understand this spectrum.  It just means that everyone is different - just like the rest of humanity. 

Whether its a high-functioning Aspie who's writing revolutionary computer code like Mark Zuckerberg, an autistic spectrum artist like Michelangelo, or an autistic spectrum person that is frustrated that their senses are all mixed up in their brain and therefore flail their arms - all autistics are different - and their personal characteristics are all different. - just like any other human.  The list on the linked article - does highlight many of the struggles autistic spectrum people have in common.

Recent studies have found that brains of autistic spectrum people are 17 % larger  (with larger heads) and have more neural connections than the typical brain.  Ironically, the increased size is in the area where verbal communication is processed (the biggest difficulty for autistic spectrum people) - the prefrontal cortex.  

This explains why Ive written poetry - about feeling that conversation gets lost in my brain "My brain takes (conversation) like a stream takes a pebble."   I guess there is more area to cover, so the processing is slower in our prefrontal cortexes.   Likely our prefrontal cortex is used for focus and processing of operations not related to verbal communciation and its subtlety.

Other recent research shows that autistic spectrum brains are hyper-active, rather than slow, as previously thought.   But since communication is lacking and we often exhibit less facial expression when communicating - autistic spectrum were seen as "a little slow".   Reality is that we are just slow communicators - with poor social skills - in an ever-faster world.

Those autistic spectrum who appear to have severe difficulties - their sense experience is all cross-wired in their brain.   Their brains are taking in the senses - but the neurons are not firing well enough to process the information - so they can communicate it to people in any normal kind of way.   (I understand this due to reading books by Dr. Temple Grandin - an designer/engineer - and writer on autistic spectrum functioning and behavior.

The article linked below is a very good general synopsis of the challenges most autistic spectrum people face.  Ill list the positives from another site below.

The things that do not apply  to me from their list: 

1.   Ive not had trouble beginning romantic relationships - Ive just had trouble maintaining them - due to the everyday small talk - that is necessary for financial decisions, my contribution to planning/coordinating activity (often which I did not want to partake due to difficulties listed), and difficulties maintaining employment after my sisters suicide and other traumas related to that (which the autistic spectrum sensitivities contributed to my reaction) and resulted in increased PTSD and avoiding situations that triggered the PTSD.

2.  I can definitely have empathy for people.   I think some of the non-recognition of empathy in autistic spectrum - lies in an inabilty to convey our empathy in a way that most people understand while we are conversating (slow processing of verbal and non-verbal communication cues).  Dr. Grandin highlights this in her book as well.   My empathy can be seen in my poetry - especially in my 20s and early 30s - as I wrote a lot of poetry from other peoples' perspectives then.  I think it is easier for me to empathize when I know the context of someone's pain or struggle. 

Also, if you look at the spectrum of typical thinkers (a term for everyone else not on the autistic spectrum) - I believe you will find a good portion of them lack empathy as well.   There are a lot of social people - whose humor is almost exclusively focused on denigration of others.  Lack of empathy in some cases - or selective empathy in others. 

Because of this - and because its difficult for autistics to convey their empathy to others - Im not really sure lack of empathy - is a great qualifier for autism.  

3.  I love to try new food.  In fact, that was a complaint I had with a couple of women Ive dated -  that they wouldnt try new restraurants - actually my two longest relationships - 5 and 7 years. (Some aspies or other parts of the spectrum are more likely to have this trait - rather than those toward the more autistic portion of the spectrum).

4.  Travel.   I love to travel and have travelled both alone and with others all over the United States.   Ive only been out the country a couple of times.  Due to the sabotage network, Ive been broke for that last 3 years - so its been impossible.   I travelled  most recently with my ex-gf Jen Hughes - she did the planning - and actually paid for more than I did - which was not usual for me - but the vehicles I was working on - were all sabotaged in 2014.   I feel she was keeping secret that she knew I was being surveilled - and possibly worse than that.  Not sure. (again I believe this to be more likely toward the Aspie part of the spectrum)

5.  I can communicate, make connections, and joke/tease people I like or love.   Joking around is not something (some aspies and some others on the autistic spectrum) struggle with.  Whether someone will understand individual brand of humor - is a matter of degree - and taste in humor - just like everyone else.

Its the small talk thats more difficult to learn.  Often, I either I drift off subject or I cannot follow the delicate nature of it - especially when more people enter the conversation.  There are times when I can go with the flow of a conversation for more than a couple minutes - but its usually not small talk oriented.  It has to be thought provoking - or my thoughts will drift (involuntarily) to some other topic quickly.  My family and I dont share the same sense of humor - or interests.

Witty banter or flirtation is the same for me as anyone else who likes that - but I like to have a mix of thought-provoking conversation and banter in a relationship.  I get a lot of blabla haha bs - in the last two years - when Im out socializing - due to the sabotage network following me (whether it was the bar or the library).

I learned better social skills in my 20s - in part thanks to alcohol and in part due to practice.  But Ill note that its difficult for someone that has poor social ability - to start out in a new place.   My first year of college was a social disaster because I didnt really know anyone - and was inept at socializing.

Since my life has been illegally surveilled and sabotaged - the social PTSD effects of that - limit my opportunity to socialize now.   I know I can socialize - as long as Im not constantly harassed - like I have been wherever I go for the last couple of years.

However, even if I wasn't under such scrutiny all the time - I do have some difficulty navigating the delicate nature of everyday conversation - especially if Im not familiar with someone.   As more people in a group are talking - the less I can absorb - due to both the distraction of social PTSD (which is a characteristic of autism spectrum Ive learned - noise sensitivity) and the poor ability of my brain to process conversation.

'If you've met one person on the autistic spectrum, you've met one person on the autistic spectrum.'  

A common quote used by those who understand this spectrum.  It just means that everyone is different - just like the rest of humanity.

Whether its a high-functioning Aspie who's writing revolutionary computer code like Mark Zuckerberg, an autistic spectrum artist like Michelangelo, or an autistic spectrum person that is frustrated that their senses are all mixed up in their brain and therefore flail their arms - all autistics are different - and their personal characteristics are all different. - just like any other human.

Recent studies have found that brains of autistic spectrum people are 17 % larger  (with larger heads) and have more neural connections than the typical brain.  Ironically, the increased size is in the area where verbal communication is processed (the biggest difficulty for autistic spectrum people) - the prefrontal cortex.  

This explains why Ive written poetry - about feeling that conversation gets lost in my brain "My brain takes (conversation) like a stream takes a pebble."   I guess there is more area to cover, so the processing is slower in our prefrontal cortexes.   Likely our prefrontal cortex is used for focus and processing of operations not related to verbal communciation and its subtlety.

Other recent research shows that autistic spectrum brains are hyper-active, rather than slow, as previously thought.   But since communication is lacking and we often exhibit less facial expression when communicating - autistic spectrum were seen as "a little slow".   Reality is that we are just slow communicators - with poor social skills - in an ever-faster world.

The article below is a very good general synopsis of the challenges most autistic spectrum people face.  Ill list the positives from another site below.
The things that do not apply  to me from their list: 

1.   Ive not had trouble beginning romantic relationships - Ive just had trouble maintaining them - due to the everyday small talk - that is necessary for financial decisions, my contribution to planning/coordinating activity (often which I did not want to partake due to difficulties listed), and difficulties maintaining employment after my sisters suicide and other traumas related to that (which the autistic spectrum sensitivities contributed to) and resulted in PTSD and avoiding situations that triggered the PTSD.

2.  I definitely have empathy for people.   I think some of the non-recognition of empathy in autistic spectrum - lies in our inabilty to convey our empathy in a way that most people understand.   My empathy can be seen in my poetry - especially in my 20s and early 30s - as I wrote a lot of poetry from other peoples' perspectives then.

3.  I love to try new food.  In fact, that was a complaint I had with a couple of women Ive dated -  that they wouldnt try new restraurants - actually my two longest relationships - 5 and 7 years.

4.  Travel.   I love to travel and have travelled both alone and with others all over the United States.   Ive only been out the country a couple of times.  Due to the sabotage network, Ive been broke for that last 3 years - so its been impossible.   I travelled  most recently with my ex-gf Jen Hughes - she did the planning - and actually paid for more than I did - which was not usual for me - but the vehicles I was working on - were all sabotaged in 2014.   I feel she was keeping secret that she knew I was being surveilled - and possibly worse than that.  Not sure. 

5.  I can communicate, make connections, and joke/tease people I like or love.   I learned better social skills in my 20s - in part thanks to alcohol and in part just practice.  But Ill note that its difficult for someone that has poor social ability - to start out.   My first year of college was a social disaster because I didnt really know anyone - and was inept at socializing.

Since my life has been illegally surveilled and sabotaged - the social PTSD effects of that - limit my opportunity to socialize now.   I know I can socialize - as long as Im not constantly harassed - like I have been wherever I go for the last couple of years.

However, even if I wasn't under such scrutiny all the time - I do have some difficulty navigating the delicate nature of conversation - especially if Im not familiar with someone.   As more people in a group are talking - the less I can absorb - due to both the distraction of social PTSD (which is a characteristic of autism spectrum Ive learned - noise sensitivity) and the poor ability of my brain to process conversation.