'What we miss - from a distance' - new poem I wrote - Post 1 today @ 3:15 PM CST on my Facebook

02/10/2017 16:43

'What we miss - from a distance'
 new poem I wrote 2/8/17 @ 7:50 PM CST

The mountain remains
long before, long after...
you climb it.
You do not conquer the mountain -
although it may conquer you.

But Ive never scaled Neru
or Kilimanjaro (sp?)
Hood or McKinley,
as those who have.

What do I know about
how
they
become
part of the rocks, the height.
Not only clipped and anchored,
but bonded to, and through it.

I don't know how it feels
to have all the needed skills,
yet cling
on the edge
of Nature's precipice -
where safe
was never a thought,
or even a wisp of air.

I know the mountain will stand
(nearly) same as it was
before them.

But did I miss
that they become
part of it all,
when they clip,
and anchor in ?